Testing Times

cactus.jpg 

Testing Times

I asked the Lord

for a bunch of fresh flowers

but instead he gave me an ugly cactus

with many thorns.

I asked the Lord

for some beautiful butterflies

but instead he gave me

many ugly and dreadful worms.

I was threatened,

I was disappointed,

I mourned.

But after many days,

suddenly,

I saw the cactus bloom

with many beautiful flowers,

and those worms became

beautiful butterflies

flying in the spring wind.

God’s way is the best way.

Chun-Ming Kao, written from prison

Leave a Reply

